Church bus crash victim Sarah Harmening to be remembered by Chick-fil-A in Athens


unnamed.jpg

19366307_10154451899161852_5057424960904420320_n.jpg

19399892_10154451899401852_2504485883394729928_n.jpg

North Alabama Chick-fil-A restaurants are selling T-shirts for the community to wear during a day designated to honor and remember missionary Sarah Harmening who was killed in a bus crash.

July 14 has been designated #servelikesarah day, Chick-fil-A of Athens announced on Facebook. The restaurant is selling T-shirts, with proceeds benefiting the Lottie Moon mission fund in Harmening’s name. The fund supports international missions and is named for Moon, who served as a missionary in China for nearly 40 years.

“The principle behind our efforts is to help a cause that was close to her (Harmening’s) heart,” reads a post on the restaurant’s Facebook page.

Harmening’s sister Katelyn said in an email to AL.com the event was created by a manager at Madison’s Chick-fil-A store, prompting other locations to join.

Harmening was killed in a bus crash near Atlanta as she and others from Huntsville’s Mt. Zion Baptist Church were traveling to the airport. They were to board a plane to Africa for a mission trip. The June 8 crash left dozens injured, including the bus driver.

Mt. Zion Church deadly bus crash: How to help

Worshipers gathered at Huntsville’s Mount Zion Baptist Church Sunday for the first service since a bus accident killed a young missionary and injured dozens more.

T-shirts are $10. Through June 30, they can be pre-ordered here and will be available for pickup by July 7.

Written on the back of the T-shirts is: “This is not about us. Life is not about us. It’s about God who is eternal. So I want to dedicate the one moment I’m here completely and entirely to him.”

Harmening wrote in her final journal entry of the great things she hoped God would do through her youth group when they arrived in Botswana.

“I was just sitting here (on) the bus feeling a little sad. I guess because I’m going to be gone so long and I was a little uncomfortable. Then I decided to read my Bible. I prayed and opened up to 1 Peter 5 and 2 Peter 1. Pretty much everything I read applies to me now,” Harmening wrote in the message shared by Alabama Baptist Newspaper.

“It talked about watching over the flock entrusted to you, which would be my little buddies in Botswana. Humbling yourself, which I will need to do also (and that also means being a little uncomfortable). It talked about the devil prowling about like a lion seeking whom he may devour, which he will especially be doing on this mission trip, and how we need to be alert and of a sober mind.

“And lastly how we get to participate in his divine nature! I mean, how awesome is that? So mostly, I was reminded of why I am here and why God has called me here… So I know He’s going to do incredible things.”

Leave a Reply

